Goodbye Arthur Boothroyd

I posted about Arthur Boothroyd’s hundredth birthday last October. A lifelong friend of Arthur’s who lives in Switzerland just broke the news to me in a comment on that blog entry that Arthur has died. It happened on 10 February, and the funeral was last Tuesday, 15 February. I’m very sorry to have missed it. He was a gracious presence in Annandale, and created a good bit of the visual environment for generations of Australians.

In October I spent some hours in the State Library trying to get hold of some images of his work, and gave up in despair of ever mastering the necessary technology. This time, Google gave me this, from March 1950:

Described like this:

2 responses to “Goodbye Arthur Boothroyd

  1. Thanks for posting that. Haven’t seen it before. If you’d like a copy of Uncle Arthur’s funeral service, which has a few photos of him and a sketch, send me your details.

  2. Thanks, Cathy. I’d love a copy — I’ll email you. There’s a project under way to digitise the Womens Weekly archives. A lot of Arthur’s work is now available on line at the National Library thanks to that project.

What do you think?

