Sonnet 14: November ends

For a while there it looked as if I wasn’t going to make my sonnet quota this year, but here’s the last one, just ahead of deadline. I was tossing up whether to write about my increasing deafness, or Yoko Ono’s exhibition at the MCA, or the way Eleanor Caron’s Booker prize-winning novel The Luminaries is getting so little promotion in the end-of-year lists in newspapers and bookshop reading guides. I settled for this:

Sonnet 14: November ends
I shopped, I read, I went to movies,
played with children, watched TV,
rode a train with weary juvies,
helped add a show to P’s CV,
stood in rain for climate action,
faced computer death distraction,
ruminated on the news,
tried to formulate some views:
all grist for my November rhyming
fourteen lines in Pushkin’s ways,
fourteen times in thirty days.
An hour to spare – precision timing –
I’ve got them done. Perhaps next year
the form of Petrarch, or Shakespeare.

6 responses to “Sonnet 14: November ends

  1. Just to-night Sydney friends to dinner – early Christmas presents to my wife – and me – CARON’s Luminaries! Last week I went to the MCA. For the Yoko ONO Exhibition. Intelligent challenges! My wife and I in June of 1976 in Khabarovsk attended the Pushkin Theatre Company on tour from Moscow. Resonances galore in your final sonnet entry and note. Thanks!

  2. Parting is such sweet sorrow. I never used to be sad to see November end, and while I’m sure the days ahead hold more Shavian delights, LoSoWriMo has become one of my favorite seasons of the year.

  3. Well I’ve enjoyed the month and found you a few new fans to boot

  4. Thanks, Will, and Charlie. It’s nice having fans …

    Will, have you seen that there’s a new biography of Basil Bunting, as per the Guardian at http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/nov/29/strong-song-tows-us-basil-bunting-review

What do you think?

